Pistil’s Phish Picks, Week 2

7-25-98 Piper – This one isn’t about the jam…it’s about the amazing, nearly 4 minute intro.  The song builds ever so gently before finally reaching it’s stride nearly 3 minutes in!  I love this chord progression, so extending the intro is something that is right up my alley.  It’s an energetic version that features absolutely nothing in the way of Trey soloing (compared to the screaming solos he started incorporating in ’99 and ’00).

5-19-94 Stash – This was one intense and brilliant version that features a loopy/swriling piece that -almost- goes into a major-key jam before Trey just rips up the finish.

12-31-99 Rock and Roll – This was the moment when this set went from a Phish concert, to something else entirely.  Watch for the “Father Time” cowbell jam starting around 12:10.  After that segment concludes you should hide the children because they aren’t of age to withstand the music that will eminate from the listening device of your choice.

6-24-97 Wolfman’s Brother – The best version that no one has heard.  One could argue that this was the most inventive song in the Phish catalog, c. Summer 1997 (though Gumbo, 2001, Bathtub Gin and Ghost could all have a say in the argument).  This one will open your ears up.  Europe did great things for Phish..and vice versa.

7-7-99 What’s the Use? – I was there for this version, so it holds a special place in my heart.  Don’t be shy in turning this up loud as there is quite a lot going on sonically.  These early renditions of WtU? are my favorites.

11-19-96 Bathtub Gin->Vibration of Life – This comes straight out of my favorite set from 1996.  This Gin is an interesting example of the state of flux that Phish found themselves that fall.  It melds the spacy rhythmic jams from 1995 (often with Trey on drum kit), the angrier, seemingly frustration-rich jams from Fall 1996 with an infusion of funkiness vis-a-vis the Remain in Light cover .  This is another oft overlooked gem…hell, I’ll go as far as saying that it’s every bit as good as the much more lauded version played on 11-7-96.

10-6-95 Slave to the Traffic Light – Sublime and tranquil version with Trey playing these gorgeous arpeggios throughout a significant portion of the jam.  When this song is played well, it’s among the most beautiful in the entire Phish catalog…I think this version gets there.

10-6-95 Slave to the Traffic Light – Sublime and tranquil version

with Trey playing these gorgeous arpeggios throughout a significant

portion of the jam.  When this song is played well, it’s among the

most beautiful in the entire Phish catalog…I think this version

gets there.

One Response to Pistil’s Phish Picks, Week 2

  1. LP says:

    I’m late to this one – fell in via a Google search – and noticed the excellent list. I like that you pick outside the typical “phan” show list. I was at 2 of the shows listed above – and by crackey, my most beloved memory from each is the track you picked!

    5/19/94 Hult in Eugene Oregon – the Stash hit me like a freight train in the middle of a trestle. When it ended, the long haired kid next to me said “That’s the best Stash I ever heard – and I’m from fu%#ing VERMONT!”

    10/6/95 Orpheum Vancouver BC – on the way down the carpeted stairs leaving the venue, I was unable to say much other than “Slave…. SLAVE!…”

    Thanks for the random kick. I’ll check back sometimes!

    LP

Leave a comment